The Catastrophic Theatre is an ensemble-based theatre company dedicated to creating a meaningful exchange between artists and audiences through the creation and performance of new works of all sorts.
We want to make you feel.

We imagine, commission, develop and produce provocative new work that’s highly emotional. The plays we select are characterized by their ambiguity regarding life’s big questions, encouraging as many possible interpretations as there are audience members.

We aren’t trying to show anyone the way.
We’re just opening the door.

Since our launch in 2007, our productions have benefited from the chemistry of artists who’ve worked together for many years. In the case of Catastrophic Theatre founders Jason Nodler and Tamarie Cooper, who also founded nationally acclaimed Infernal Bridegroom Productions in 1993, that would be more than two decades of collaboration. Many of our artists have dedicated their entire careers to working together, and their deep, trusting relationships are reflected on the stage.

Our audience is also a crucial collaborator in our work, following us down dark hallways with no guarantee of light at the end of the journey. They share no specific demographic save a willingness to be challenged. Their trust in us empowers our way forward.

World Premieres
The Turn of the Screw
Created collaboratively by Afsaneh Aayani, Adam J. Thompson and the Company; Adapted by Bradley Michalakis from the novella by Henry James – 2023
A Maroon’s Guide to Time and Space

By Candice D’Meza – 2023

They Do Not Move

By Brian Jucha with the Catastrophic ensemble – 2022


by Afsaneh Aayani – 2022

The Drama Squad

by the Catastrophic artists – 2020 to 2021

30 Ways to Get Free

by Candice D’Meza – 2021

Herzstück or “My Heart Hot the Floor & Shattered into 10,000 Pieces”

by Greg Dean – 2021

Speeding Motorcycle

by Jason Nodler with songs and concepts by Daniel Johnston – 2019


by Brian Jucha and Catastrophic Theatre Artists – 2019

First Suburb

by Chana Porter – 2018

Small Ball

book by Mickle Maher, music and lyrics by Merel Van Dijk and Anthony Barilla – 2018

Leap And The Net Will Appear

by Chana Porter – 2018

Snow White

by Donald Barthelme, adapted by Greg Dean – 2017

The Blackest Shore

by Mark Schultz – 2015


by Miki Johnson – 2014

The Pine

by Mickle Maher – 2013

American Falls

by Miki Johnson – 2012


by Miki Johnson – 2012

Bluefinger: The Fall and Rise of Herman Brood

by Jason Nodler with songs by Black Francis and Herman Brood – 2010

Life is Happy and Sad

by Jason Nodler with songs and concepts by Daniel Johnston – 2009

The Splasher

by Troy Schulze – 2008

Tamarie Cooper’s Original Productions

An original musical performed each summer, created by by Tamarie Cooper, Patrick Reynolds, and others. Past shows include The Tamarie Cooper Show [2008], Tamarie Cooper: Journey to The Center of My Brain in 3D [2009], The United States of Tamarie [2011], Tamarie Cooper’s Doomsday Revue [2012], Tamarie Cooper’s Old as Hell [2013], A Very Tamarie Christmas [2014], The University of Tamarie [2015], Tamarie For President: Greatest Hits (vol 2) [2016], Tamarie Cooper’s Merry Evening of Mistakes and Regrets [2017], The Tamarie Cooper Show: Field Trip! [2018], Tamarie 20/20 [2020], Tamarie Cooper’s Holiday Super Show [2021], Tamarie Cooper’s Golden Jubilee [2021], Tamarie Cooper’s LIVE IN-PERSON Sticky Sweet Summer Show! [2022], and Tamarie’s Totally True Revue (plus lies too! [2023]

Awards And Grants
Houston Press: Houston Theater Awards – 2017
WINNERS – Best Actor: Kyle Sturdivant as Trevor in Trevor, Best Artistic Director: Jason Nodler, Best Season: The Catastrophic Theatre
FINALISTS – Best Play/Production (Trevor); Best Actress (Tamarie Cooper – Song About Himself); Best Supporting Actor (Rutherford Cravens as Dodge in Buried Child); Best Lighting (Hudson Davis – Trevor, David Gipson/Full Media Jacket Video Design – Snow White, Dustin Tannahill – Song About Himself); Best Sound (Chris Bakos – Song About Himself, Tim Thomson – Snow White); Best Director (Tamarie Cooper -Trevor, Greg Dean – Snow White)

Houston Press Best New Play – 2014

clean/through by Miki Johnson
American Theatre Wing National Theatre Company Grant – 2013

Houston Press Theater Awards – 2012

Best Playwright – Miki Johnson, Best Season: The Catastrophic Theatre
MAP Fund Commissioning Grant – 2011
Houston Press Best Theatre Company, Best Original Play, Best Actress,  Best Actor – 2009
MAP Fund Commissioning Grant – 2009

For the latest about Catastrophic Theatre productions, events and more